Bovey Tracey – Corn Dolly Workshop

I was pleased to be invited by the college to run my own workshop at Bovey Tracey Contemporary Craft Fair this year, which was a real thrill to be recognised for my practical work and also in championing the traditional craft of corn dolly making. It was based on my personal project where I translated the traditional forms into contemporary designed jewellery pieces.

Here are some of my paper corn dolly pieces in the experimental design stage.

Harvest Queen1Dermeter1neck1

 

 

It was advertised as a 2 hour workshop for 8 people, which became more of a drop in session for many others visiting the site and who had come into the pattern pavilion, intrigued by the fun decor and by our activity. People just really wanted to have a go which was great. I had plenty of materials and am used to working with large groups of children doing craft activities so the more the merrier was the attitude of the day.

ply coll bov tent

I think people were fascinated by it for three reasons, one because they recognised it’s forms but they couldn’t quiet work out where from, why or what it was all about, two because they are visually striking with contemporary design potential in their geometric style structures and three because it was an accessible activity for any age and well four because it was free of course!

I gave a short introduction on the historical context of the craft, the traditions, materials and connections the British craft culture. What led me to using it within my own practice was being my successful London Design Museum submission where I incorporated a technique with a modern concept, using recycled PU foam as an abundant material around me in today’s society as apposed to the arable crops readily available to the crafts people of the time when it was an important farming ritual. I then introduced the materials we would be using and how to go about starting off.

I had an initial group of about 10 ages ranging from 8 to people in their 60’s (I’m guessing here, you just don’t ask ladies their age do you!) and we even had a man too, who was mainly the happy assistant to his CEO or other wise known as his daughter, below.

demo2

Starting off was tricky as this is the point in which people need the most support. I had an assistant with me who I had taught the techniques too so we were able to spread ourselves out between the group. Some needing more direction than others meant I was able to keep circulating the table to ensure everyone got attention, which I think is important when running a work shop that you don’t forgo the ones who excel, every body deserves attention when they have enrolled their time and energy into it as well.

close updemo3

As I had known I would be getting 8 booked participants I had printed on card some general information about my talk, which they could take home with them. This included a brief historical outline, online resources for materials and instructional videos, my blog addresses and other contact details.

I chose to use paper straws as they are much easier for beginners to use and do not need the preparation which wheat does. I was asked this by one lady so was prepared in my response. I think some thought it would be a quick and easy craft to grasp and found out that it is a bit harder than it looks. My aim for them was to experiment with relatively cheep materials so they could get an understanding of the techniques and with the info I provided could then if they wished look into using traditional materials. It was great fun to see their creations take place. When I was being taught using the straws, I was being taught very traditional forms. My teacher was intrigued to see how I changed the normal patterns and was taking it in a new direction she had never thought to do. When we teach others we are always getting a lesson ourselves and watching how people react with materials is great inspiration for me as an artist and designer. Other people can have very different perceptions, expressions and solutions in response to materials and craft techniques. I had a selection of ready made items by myself in the centre for them to look at and handle to get a feel for how manipulating the straw positions can affect it’s structure and these ranged from the traditional forms to some of my more experimental versions.

I got some great feedback on the day from everyone involved and found that especially the children really engaged with it. I spent most of my time and enjoyment in sitting with girls and boys teaching them the techniques and telling them stories about the spirit of John Barley Corn.

One of the participants kindly said,

The workshop was excellent, a complete sellout. All participants of varying ages enjoyed the experience especially as each one of us learned from you how to weave a corn dolly design. We also found your talk at the beginning of the session on the origins and history of corn dolly making very interesting.
Thank you for sharing your craft with us.

On reflection due to where the workshop was held, in an open tent to the public who were coming and going (and shelter from the rain) I could of had more of the info sheets to give out, especially as many more people came to participate. I did however have home-printed business cards that I gave out to people.

I decided to give people who had been participating a bunch of straws to take home with them so they could continue their work after the fair or on their way home in the car. I believe that in doing this they will remember the workshop more and engage in the craft in their own space and time, which may lead to them continuing it further beyond the fair. This is an important part of the whole concept of my work the transference of skills, which are otherwise being lost in today’s craft and ready-made consumerist society.

 

The college kindly let me place a cabinet of my more experimental corn dolly pieces, which I have been dipping in porcelain and firing and was able to place information there too about myself and my work.

cabinet1

They were really pleased with how I delivered the workshop and have invited me to run another workshop using corn dolly crafts for a Christmas project they are developing.

 

Leave a comment